What happened to lovely?

So, whatever happened to the idea of being lovely? 
Whatever happened to class? I was born too late for hats and white gloves and putting effort into one’s self at all times. But really, isn’t the world missing a certain romance that used to be carried with those ideas?

I want to be lovely. I don’t ever want to wake up in the morning and think “eh, it doesn’t really matter today”. Everyday matters. Maybe it’s just me, but how I put myself together before I go to work definitely has an effect on the rest of my day. I don’t want to wear something that only makes me feel so-so, I want to wear something that makes me feel like a million dollars. Everyone deserves to feel that way, whether your million dollar outfit is a pair of jeans and the perfect t shirt or a designer dress with stilettos.  

I’m constantly looking to Audrey Hepburn as a source of inspiration. Not her characters. Not Holly Golightly in Breakfast at Tiffany’s – the actual woman herself. She was a lady, both in how she put herself together and the way she acted. There’s a lot to be said for that, and I admire her composure, kindness, and style. If you happen to have the chance, I would highly suggest reading one of her biographies. She was a woman who was strong without being pushy, and self-assured without seeming full of herself. There is a definite grace that comes with being at home in your own skin and loving the person you are. 

So will I work on bringing back hats and gloves? Hey, a girl can dream. But for now I’ll settle for the occasional full skirt. For not needing a reason to wear a great pair of heels. And for turning a few heads on the street, in a good way. 

I want to be lovely. 

Leave a Reply

