The First Day of School (well, for some people)

It’s that time of year again, children! Time to shuffle off to buses and cars and carry on with your hefty pursuit of knowledge (or in the case of college students, time to manage your hangover as best you can and get through class #1 without vomiting). I have to admit, I’m feeling a little bit nostalgic for school. This time last year – as facebook reminds me – I was heading off to my first class of Senior year at Miami, full of the highest hopes and a general feeling that I could take on the world.

Well, since then, I suppose I sort of took on the world (the world of advertising anyway), and considering that I’m holding a steady job I imagine you could say that I conquered it. But there is definitely a small part of me that misses school. Monotony is my biggest fear in life, and although my job is certainly never boring, I miss having a complete change of subject every hour and a half. I miss knowing that no day will ever be even remotely similar, and I miss knowing that there is always a summer on the way to break up the year. Would I go back? I don’t think so. I was ready to be done by the time graduation rolled around. But eventually I’ll end up in school again – graduate school in England, to be precise, but not before I do my thing in advertising for a couple of years. 

I guess what I really want in life is adventure. I don’t ever want to be bored, and I want to take advantage of every opportunity I can while I’m young enough to get away with it. I would hate to wake up at 40 years old and find myself thinking “Wow, I wish I would have….”

There is no particular point to any of this, except to say that I feel strange knowing that I’m no longer a student. As cliche as it is, I want to make sure that all the students out there make the absolute most of their time, because before you can chug your last natty light you’ll be an adult – one who pays for health insurance and gets a steady paycheck (which in turn allows you to afford better beer), and it is both a blessing and a curse.

In closing to this little festival of nostalgia, I’ll call to mind a fabulous piece of advice: 

You’re far more likely to regret something you didn’t do than something you did. 

Happy schooling, kids!

Leave a Reply

