Real World Dating … Maybe

In May, I graduated from college. I spent the last two years of my glorious higher education in a relationship that I (assumed) would never come to an end. 

Well, we all know what happens when you assume.

So now I am a 22 year old single young professional … and I have no idea how the hell I’m supposed to date. 

College makes dating easy. I went to Miami, where I was perpetually surrounded by roughly 7,000 members of the opposite sex, most of whom were looking for some sort of intimate contact with women. I took different classes every semester and was constantly meeting new people. Don’t like the selection of men in your 1800s American Lit class? Pop off to French 102, maybe you’ll like someone there. Nope, still no one? Try the next class. Join a club. Play broomball. Go uptown. The options are practically endless. 

But things don’t really work that way in the real world. I work in an office with plenty of girls close to my age, but very few men. I hang out with my friends, who are fabulous, but it’s rare that we randomly meet a large group of attractive men and strike up conversation 

A lot of people tell me that I should just go out to more bars. Well, fair enough, it’s pretty much a guarantee that you’ll meet somebody at a bar. It’s just a question of whether or not you want to meet someone at a bar (for my particular feelings on this, refer to my earlier post “cut off”). In short … I’d rather not. I’m not saying I want to meet Mr. Right in some inane rom-com kind of way that involves clever ploys and wildly impossible coincidences, I’m just saying that it would be nice to meet him someplace that doesn’t regularly clean vomit out of it’s toilets. 

Online dating is also something that’s been suggested to me. But honestly? I can’t bring myself to do it. It’s not that I think it’s shameful or pathetic – it’s actually a very smart way to go about things. I just don’t want my love story to be “match.com paired us up based on our top ten personality traits”. I want to meet someone in the real world. And it seems that doing so becomes exponentially more difficult after graduation.

I know I’m not alone in my fear. Single post-grad women everywhere are gripped with a sudden feeling of dread when they throw their hat in the air and realize that they didn’t meet the love of their life in college. You’re supposed to meet the love of your life in college, damn it. Society tells us so. Most of our parents are living proof. And it’s terrifying to graduate and wonder what happens next. 

So now I wonder, am I being too picky? I met my last serious boyfriend in a castle in Europe – that’s kind of hard to beat. Have I been spoiled in the ways of love? 

I like to hope not. When the right person comes along, it won’t matter if we met on a blind date or as the result of some weirdly contrived happenstance. All that will matter is that we met.

But at the same time, I wish I hadn’t met the last guy in that damn castle. Because who am I kidding – I’ll probably never top that. 

Leave a Reply

