This is True Love. Do You Think this Happens Everyday?

Yeah, okay, this is going to be a sappy post. Still riddled with my usual prickly sarcasm, I assure you, but also sappy. 

True Love. Let’s talk about that for a minute. Because there is seriously a difference between love and true love – trust me, I know. And it seems to me that the reason so many relationships don’t work out is because people settle for love. Don’t get me wrong, love is fantastic. Love changes the world. But True Love changes people forever. 

I know it sounds over the top and sappy. It IS over the top and sappy. But it’s true. It’s possible to meet the right person and “just know”. It’s possible to experience love at first sight. I know people who’ve been married for 9 years who knew the moment they saw each other that this was it. After all, if stuff like that wasn’t real in the first place, where would all the good love stories get their ideas? Do you think people just make this shit up? (Okay, they do make a lot of it up, but roll with me here).  

Up until a few months ago, I would have said that my knowledge of this is based solely on my own experiences. But then my own experiences went to hell in a hand basket and left me up the proverbial creek without a paddle or a boat. The thing is, though, that my opinion of True Love didn’t go to hell with my relationship. And I realized that it wasn’t only my own life I was trusting for my beliefs, it was my parents’ life too.

I know my opinion of things would probably be different if I didn’t have the parents I have. They met by chance, and knew after 2 months that it was the real deal. They survived a long distance relationship for two years. They got married, had my older sister, had me, and we all lived happily ever after. Last year they celebrated their 25 wedding anniversary. And you know what?

They’re happy every day.

I asked my mom a few years ago, back when I was in the midst of a ridiculously joyful time in my life, whether or not she was happy. She told me that yes, she was happy every day when she woke up next to my dad. And it’s not like she even really needed to tell me that. I could see it for myself. When two people really, honestly love each other, you can just tell. 

So I guess the long and short of all this is simply the fact that True Love is real. It might be rare, and it doesn’t happen every day, but I do believe it can happen for everyone. My parents aren’t the only couple I know who are still happy and in love. People are content to settle for less because they think it will never happen for them, but it can. It’s what we deserve. 

I’ll admit to being bitter, cynical harpie sometimes. It’s part of my charm. But I can just never take anyone seriously who says that love isn’t real. Who says that we can’t be happy with just one person for the rest of our lives. Someone who says “all men are awful” or “all women are evil” – and I don’t just disbelieve them because that kind of emo outlook makes you look like an immature whining dunce after the age of fifteen.

I don’t believe them, quite simply, because they’re wrong. I’ve seen the proof.

And someday, I hope I’ll be the proof too. 

Leave a Reply

