That New Years Post

2011 ends tomorrow, so I guess it’s time for that obligatory New Years post (is it obligatory? I don’t know. I’m just making shit up now). And you know what that means kids – reflection! 

Bear with me here, 2011 has been one hell of a year. I graduated college, got a job, had my world rocked (in a bad way) and completely changed the direction of my life. So, you know, lots of stuff. Once upon a time, I would have actually been married for six months by this point. Completely insane to think about, and even harder to believe that I actually thought I was ready for that. I’m sure I could have been happy that way once, but I feel like a completely different person today than I was a year ago. And I’m definitely NOT the kind of girl who’s ready for a white picket fence and 2.5 kids. Not yet, anyway. 

So I’m taking the time to close the book on a few things – actually close the book, not just tell myself that I am. I’m giving up hope on certain things, not in a cynical way, just in that way that comes about when you realize you need to walk away without looking back. Period. If only for your own sake. It’s strange, almost like things are ending all over again. But I realized a few weeks ago that I’m really ready to let go of everything (even if it took awhile for me to get here), and that’s a bittersweet but ultimately good feeling.

My career sort of took center stage this year – and not just because my love life went to hell. Opportunity has been breaking down my door lately, and quite frankly it’s incredible. Once in a lifetime chances that I never thought would come my way. I’ve had to make some big decisions, but I know they’ve been the right ones. 

So you know, that’s my year. There have been extreme highs and extreme lows, but I never doubted I’d get through the bad stuff. I’m a tough cookie, and I’ve pushed myself to be tougher by necessity. Honestly, that’s a fact that I’m proud of. And of course, cliche as it is, I couldn’t have gotten through the last year – most specifically the last 8 months – without my friends and family. They hugged me when I needed a hug, drank with me when I needed a drink, and gave me a kick in the ass when I needed a kick in the ass.

2012 is going to be a great year (even if the impending apocalypse comes about). There are some fantastic changes in my future, and I’m looking forward to them. 

So, resolutions? Well, there’s the usual. Work out so I can be in bikini shape for that trip to the Caribbean with my sister in May, apply myself even more to my current job, and just keep getting my life together. Who knows, maybe even a nice place of my own. 

I’d also like to go on a date. An actual, proper date with a great man who I’m really interested in. I feel a little sad saying that, but it’s a hell of a lot harder to come by one of those ‘date’ things – and one of those “decent” type guys to fall for – than you might think. Especially post-grad. So you know, another resolution to throw into the mix. 

Cheers to the new year, kids. Fingers crossed it’s better than this one! 

Leave a Reply

