Leaving “The Plan” Behind

Do you have a plan for your life? … That’s nice. It’s probably going to go to hell in a hand basket. 

I’ve always been a planner. A worrier. I was the weird kid who was thinking about college majors when I was in 8th grade. Once I had a plan, I stuck with it, and I freaked out when it didn’t go exactly the way I’d anticipated. 

Here’s the thing about planning, though: It’s useless. It’s laughable, really. I’m not saying to stop planning all together (your life would probably fall apart). Go all out for the things you want in life – just be prepared for detours, setbacks, and maybe even a complete change of direction. You can still get from point A to B, you just might pass through Q, Z, R and H to get there. 

Thus far, very few parts of my life have gone the way I originally planned. But that’s a good thing, I think. I fought for the things that mattered to me. My education, my career, I took control where I was able. But I think it can be really hard for us to get used to the idea that we cannot, in fact, control EVERYTHING. Sure, we can say that we understand that, but our brains still go into hyper-drive when something falls out of place in our lives. 

But one of the lovely results of a life that hasn’t gone at all as planned is the fact that I no longer actually care. I don’t feel the need to plan out every little detail, because I know that the planning itself is absurd. Things that I was certain would be good ideas were horrible ideas. Things that I was certain would be horrible turned out to be fantastic. There’s really no way to tell. 

So, scew the plan. I firmly believe that things will work themselves out if you let them – whether it’s because of the universe, God, Yoda, or some other cosmic force. I can look back at so many things that caused me stress and realize that if I’d just worried a little less, the problem would have solved itself. If it was even a problem at all. 

Who needs a plan? 

Life is far more fun without one. 

Leave a Reply

