“I Feel It’s Approach, Inevitable as Death … Internet Dating”

The above title is a haiku from the absolutely hilarious book “Haikus for the Single Girl”. Other such gems include “I walk home alone, purse covered in cheetos dust … should this depress me?” 

But I digress.

Come the start of February, my self-invoked 90 days of manless-ness will be through. It’s important to note here that I’m only human, so it would be untrue to say that these days have been entirely  manless. Originally I was going to call my little transgressions a snafu in the plan, but quite frankly I have only positive feelings about them, so it wouldn’t be right to deem them mistakes. The fact is that these past few months, detours and surprises included, have given me exactly what I hoped they would – the chance to finally get over an ex, the opportunity to get to know myself again, and, most importantly, happiness. That’s right, kids. I’m actually happy. 

But now let’s get to the heart of the matter.

Internet Dating. I’m going to try it. 

There’s a charming little website I happened across called justacocktail.com, and I figure it’s worth a shot. We’re not talking “meet your future spouse” here, we’re talking about drinks. And I’m excellent at drinks. If nothing else it will give me more blog fodder, as I intend to document my misadventures with gusto. 

So, there it is. I suppose I have nothing to lose in this little experiment. I’m young, there’s plenty of time to meet someone in the real world. I’m just curious, I suppose, and after a two year relationship and 8 months of not really dating, I might in fact be totally shit at it. Better to find out now and get back into the swing of things.

That being said, my life might end up going to route of a romantic comedy, and despite all odds and my assumptions on the contrary, I will accidentally meet someone who will turn out to be rather wonderful. 

….

Hey, a girl can dream, right? 

Leave a Reply

