The Choice is Yours

Decisions can be tricky little buggers. 

I don’t know about anyone else, but to me the only thing worse than making a difficult decision is being stuck with indecision. I would rather make the call and follow through than waiver back and forth in an unending sea of question marks. 

At times, this habit causes me to act rashly, not thinking something through before I do it. Maybe I should have waited, gathered more information, considered more options, etc etc. But if I have a choice to make, I like to make it as quickly and efficiently as possible. 

It can be hard to keep walking down the path you choose. “What ifs” litter the side of the road like beer cans, and you might stumble a lot. But don’t get yourself turned around – not if you have even the vaguest confidence in the direction you’re going. Because stopping in the middle of the road won’t get you anywhere, and going back the way you just came? Well, that hardly seems to make sense if what you really want is to move forward. 

I need to remind myself of this from time to time. I think we all do. Because going back the way you came or staying in the same place you are now can seem a lot easier sometimes than walking forward into the hazy unknown.

Don’t worry though. The further you walk, the easier it will be to understand where you really want to go. 

Ultimately, the choice is yours. 

Leave a Reply

