Your Soul is as Dry as the Pages of the Books to which You so Desperately Cleave

Well, yes. Mine probably is. Thank you Professor Trelawney. 

The fact is that I’m kind of dying out here. It’s been just over 6 months since I graduated college, and I miss learning. I miss sitting in classrooms discussing literature, I miss my Visualizing the Holocaust film studies class, I even miss geology (just a tiny, tiny bit).

Out here in the real world, it’s harder to learn, at least in the academic sense. I’ve certainly learned a lot since I’ve started my job at the ad agency, but not in the same way I learned in school. The number of subjects covered around here isn’t exactly varied.

The weird thing is that I never even really liked school that much. I wasn’t a straight-A student, I wasn’t an over-achiever. I just kind of floated along. College was different, of course, because I was actually taking classes I was interested in, but there were still plenty of days spent on facebook instead of listening to the professor.

On the one hand, I want to go to class again. I want to sit around and discuss things and write papers and trade ideas. On the other hand, I was so very ready to be done by the time I graduated. I suppose now I can say for certain that grad school will be in my future, though.

And the kind of cool thing about not going to school anymore is realizing that your education doesn’t have to stop just because you’re not sitting in a classroom (as an added bonus, grades don’t exist out here). I know, that sounds tragically cliche, doesn’t it? But my brain misses exercising, and I don’t want it to get brain-fat. So I sat down, made a list of things that interested me, and intend to start spending more time at the library.

Let the free-style education begin.  

Leave a Reply

