Burning Seconds into Minutes on My Way to Seize the Day

I’ve felt an intense sense of urgency about the direction of my life for the past year or so. This driving, almost obsessive need to do crazy things and take advantage of every opportunity I can while I’m still young enough to get away with it.

I feel like I’m probably too young to be so afraid of wasting my life in mediocrity. Isn’t that what midlife crises are supposed to be about? It’s just that I can’t stand the idea of ‘normal’, and I’m scared that maybe I’ve already fallen into the trap. It’s hard to push back against the grain, you know? The societal equivalent of swimming upstream when everyone else is swimming downstream – if you’re not careful, you’ll end up being carried away with them before you even realize it. Complacency is more dangerous than misery in life, because it’s hard to live with misery. It’s only too easy to live with complacency. 

I know it’s important to realize these things while we’re young. Before we wake up one morning and wonder where the past 40 years have gone with a long list of “what ifs” and “i wish i hads” on our bedside tables. 

But it takes a lot of guts to make the move you really want to make. And the ever constant question is at the back of my mind – can I really do it? 

Can you? 

“Did they wait until it was too late to make from their lives even one iota of what they were capable? Because you see, gentlemen, these boys are now fertilizing daffodils. But if you listen real close, you can hear them whisper their legacy to you. Go on, lean in. Listen, you hear it? …. Carpe diem. Seize the day – make your lives extraordinary.” 

-Dead Poets Society 

Leave a Reply

