Count Me In

I am an avid Obama supporter. If that bothers you, you might want to stop here.

When Obama officially announced that he was in favor of same-sex marriage yesterday, I was thrilled. The first election I ever voted in was the presidential election of 2008, and I voted for Obama. Come this November, I’ll be voting for him again. 

I’ll admit – when I vote, I vote largely on principle. And maybe that’s not quite the right way to do it. Maybe it’s more about logistics and policy and the nitty gritty. But I simply think this way: 

I would not support a man who believes that some of my dearest friends don’t deserve the same rights I do. Plain and simple. Set all the other policy and political bullshit aside, I just wouldn’t feel right supporting any person who seeks, whether intentionally or unintentionally, to devalue human love. 

That makes my choice pretty easy. 

The thing that got me about Obama’s announcement yesterday was that it once again gave me the feeling of hope I had when he first ran for president four years ago. Hope that things are evolving, changing for the better. And hope for the men and women who struggle to feel loved and accepted. Their day to day lives will still be difficult, but at least now they know that the President of the United States has their back. As one teenager tweeted: “Going to bed knowing I have the support of the most powerful man in the world. #feelsamazing #equality #itdoesgetbetter”

Politically speaking, this was also a pretty damn smart move. With the Republican party seeming to lean more far right than middle of the road these days, there has never been a better time for the president to showcase what makes him different from Mitt Romney – especially considering the fact that a majority of Americans are in favor of gay marriage.

I love our president. He’s not perfect, but I wouldn’t expect any president to be. I love him because he got rid of the “Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell” policy. I love him because he supports gay marriage, not just civil unions. I love him because he believes my body is my own, and I should be able to decide what to do with it. 

I’m just one person, but he can count me in for November 2012. 


Leave a comment