Time is Running Up the Clock

We all have a limited amount of time on the edge. When you’re young and you’ve finished your education and for the first time you can really do anything you want. There are a few brief years that you have on the edge. Standing at the top of the cliff and not knowing whether you’ll fall, fly, climb, jump, float, or turn around. 

And for a little while, you can do it all. Your life hasn’t settled yet. You haven’t walked too far down any one path to turn around. There’s still time, there are still chances. You can decide if you want an ordinary life, or an extraordinary one. You get to pick. And maybe we don’t always take enough ownership of that decision. Because it is our decision. 

I talk a lot to my friends about the crazy dreams and ideas I have. And I know it always seems like I’m flitting from one plan to another to another – never stopping for too long in one place. The truth is that I’m just itching to run down every path. I want to try everything, because I know that sooner or later I’ll have to choose a direction for my life, and I might not be able to turn around. 

I don’t know if everyone feels this way. I’m sure some people are very happy to choose a path as soon as possible, and enjoy a leisurely stroll down it for the rest of their lives. But I have a feeling I’ll be the one crashing through branches, making my own path and finding my way from one to another to another. 

Because I’m scared to death of the “what if”s and “I should have”s. And maybe that fear is what keeps me going – whether that’s good or bad, I don’t know. But there is always a little voice in my head, reminding me that the clock is ticking. 

And the biggest mistake I can make is assuming that being young means I have all the time in the world. 

Leave a Reply

