Here’s the Jackpot Question in Advance

… What’re you doing New Year’s Eve? 

Because it’s here. Again. And I’m writing about it. Again. 

‘Tis the season to start fresh, make resolutions that you may or may not keep, and take a look at whether or not 2012 was as amazing as you thought it would be back on New Year’s Eve 2011. 

When I wrote my NYE post last year, I was trying to make things sound rosier than they were. I was still wrecked over a man who loved me once and then stopped, I had a job that looked great on paper but didn’t live up to it’s title in reality, and I was thoroughly convinced that I probably wasn’t worth anyone’s time. Luckily, things change. 

I will allow 2012 to be my year of “Getting My Shit Together”. I didn’t like my old agency job, so I quit and got a job at a new agency – which has, by far, been the most amazing experience of my life. I was still screwed up over someone, so I went to a therapist and talked about it. I felt a little bit worthless, so I built myself up again. 

Mostly, I spent a lot of time figuring out who I am. And, as it turns out, I like myself. Honestly I just feel incredibly happy to be able to say that. Because if you like yourself, it doesn’t really matter what anyone else has to say about you. 

So, that’s my big New Year’s Eve question. Do you like you? Because if you do, then you are unstoppable. But if you don’t, ask yourself why. Is it because of faults that you, personally, find in yourself? Or is it because of what someone else has to say about you?

Because let’s be honest, you’re probably pretty damn awesome. You’ve just got to believe it without the validation of anyone else. People will come and go, their opinions of you will change, but don’t allow that to change your opinion of yourself. 

I hope the new year brings you self-love, joy, and crazy adventures. 

Happy 2013!

Leave a Reply

