Having Malarky

When I was little and got together with my cousins, we sometimes got to stay up until 11pm hanging out and jumping around in one of our rooms. Our parents referred to this as “malarky”. As in: “You kids can have malarky tonight.” 

I didn’t know it was a real word until I was about 12, and when I found out, it pretty much blew my mind. 

To this day, whenever I get together with my cousins (all of us are now in our 20s), we still refer to it as malarky. For example, “Hey guys, let’s all go out to a bar and have malarky.”

And so it is done.  

This post has been brought to you by Wednesday nostalgia and the insistence of a friend of mine that this story is amazing. Do not contradict her. 

Leave a Reply

