The Thing About NEO

So here’s the deal. I’m a born and bred Ohioan. I grew up in an adorable suburb about halfway between Akron and Cleveland, went to college at Miami University (woot woot, Oxford!), and aside from a stint in Europe (best semester of my life), I’ve always called myself an Ohio girl.

I live on the west side of Cleveland now, and work on a boat downtown. And if there’s one thing I’ve discovered since my return to NEO after college, it’s that Cleveland is AWESOME. I grew up ¬†thinking it was the sort of place I’d always want to leave, but the truth is that it’s a pretty damn fantastic city. It took me awhile to admit that, honestly, and to accept the idea that this might actually be the sort of place I’d want to stay. But once I opened my eyes to what was around me, I realized that I’m in an incredible little pocket of the world. We’ve got the second largest theater district in the Eastern US, we’ve got beaches, marinas, yacht clubs, food to die for, dance clubs, museums, and national parks – all within twenty minutes of each other. There’s a certain fierce pride that comes with being a Clevelander – that mentality that we can make fun of our city, but no one else can, because deep down it’s a part of who we are. And anyway, you can’t knock it ’til you’ve tried it, as they say.

Any other Clevelanders out there? What do you love about our north coast diamond in the rough?

Here are some of my favorite places:

Image
The West Side Market in Ohio City
Image
Tower City, a Cleveland landmark
Image
East 4th street
Image
The Cuyahoga Valley national park
Image
Playhouse Square
University Circle, home of Cleveland's museums
University Circle, home of Cleveland’s museums
One thought on “The Thing About NEO

  1. Totally thought this was going to be a rant about The Matrix or the concept of “The One” – lol. But I agree, Cleveland was pretty awesome! And that last pictures is BEAUTIFUL. I’ll have to come back and visit soon!

Leave a Reply

