Where Do You Find Your Five?

Disconnecting every day is absolutely essential, even if it’s only for 5 minutes. We’re so bogged down by technology at every turn that it’s easy to forget about a world that existed before it.

I find my five minutes when I take a walk on the deck after lunch. I’m lucky in that I work someplace unconventional – no cubicles, no gray walls, just an amazing view of the lake. But I’m steeped in technology. We all are. I do my work on a laptop and check my phone constantly and feel like I couldn’t survive without wifi (although I had to for awhile).

But it’s really incredibly strange when you think about it. I find the need to apologize if someone texts me and I don’t get back to them for an hour because I’m busy. Since when is it necessary to apologize for not being 100% available to everyone at all hours of the day? I turn my phone off at night, and I know some people who think that’s weird. Are we that obsessive?

The short answer: Yes.

I’m a facebook fiend and a twitter lover. I post all the time, and occasionally I catch myself thinking about something in terms of a status update. That’s not okay. We’re more concerned about showing everyone what a good time we’re having than actually HAVING a good time. Our experiences now need to be validated by others, and that warped line of thinking can negatively affect our lives in a big way.

It’s hard for me to shut off my need to post on social media. In fact, it’s probably something I should be working on. But I do my best every day to set aside time to just be. To unplug. I turn off my phone and read a book. I listen to music and drink a glass of wine. I watch a TV show without checking my phone every five minutes (seriously, it’s harder than you think). I take a walk on the boat deck and just enjoy the feeling of being on the water. It’s healthy. It’s necessary.

So, where do you find your daily five minutes? Or if you don’t, do you think you should?

One thought on “Where Do You Find Your Five?

  1. Studies have shown that people who spend more time on Facebook tend to be more depressed, the result of seeing all of the fun things their friends are doing and feeling like they aren’t living the same exciting lives as their friends. Because we only post the best (or worst) parts of our day, what people see of us on social media is not everything about us. We talk about how people share their entire lives on social media, but for the most part, we are ignoring the hours of watching TV or just reading a magazine, and we see only a fraction of each other.

    I think your idea of unplugging is the best solution. Living a life rather than following the happiest moments of others is what will provide personal satisfaction. But it’s also important to remember that no one has it all together and no one is having a great time every second of the day. We all need a reality check and a disconnect 🙂

Leave a Reply

